Press Kit

Download Full Press Kit (87 MB) – includes bios, photos, press quotes, and more.


Fireworks is an American chamber music ensemble whose inclusive repertoire and innovative performances have helped to rewrite the rules of concert music for over fifteen years.

Hailed as “adventurous and ahead of the curve” by The Washington Post and “classically trained but musically fearless” by Time Out New York, the six-member ensemble combines instruments from the classical, jazz, and rock traditions with music as far-ranging as Frank Zappa’s instrumental rock, Bach’s The Art of the Fugue, Lou Reed’s Metal Machine Music, Stravinsky’s The Rite of Spring, dance music from around the world, classic cartoon scores, and new music written for the ensemble. In her review of the group’s sold-out concert at Miller Theatre in New York, Anne Midgette of The New York Times captured the essence of Fireworks’ approach by writing “Finally labels ceased to matter: this was just music and it sounded like music to keep.”

In its 2015-16 season, Fireworks celebrated the release of American Tapestry—American music from classical to rock, blues to bluegrass, and Lindy Hop to hip hop—with an extensive United States tour as part of the roster of Live On Stage. In February 2017, the group unveiled its latest project, Play, a concerto for improvising ensemble, commissioned by the Empire State Youth Orchestra at Proctors Theater in Schenectady, New York.



  1. Rumble (from West Side Story) Fireworks Ensemble 1:22
  2. Bluegrass Breakdown Fireworks Ensemble 1:59
  3. Shenandoah Fireworks Ensemble 7:58


“Hell-for-leather arrangements… show-stopping solos”
— Anne Midgette, The New York Times

“Adventurous and ahead of the curve… chamber music got a kick in the pants”
— Stephen Brookes, The Washington Post

“Classically trained but musically fearless”
— Bob Banister, Time Out New York

“The missing link between contemporary classical music and advanced rock music”
— Corinna da Fonseca-Wollheim, The Wall Street Journal

“An explosion of genres from rock to classical”
— NBC’s “The 10! Show”


Photo credit: Erika Kapin

For project-specific information, including audio, video, one-sheets, and technical information, see the pages for American Tapestry, Play, and Requiem.